Digitisation update

I gave a presentation about our various digitisation activities to the ITLT on June 12th which scored a first for me: having spoken for more than my allotted time I attempted to wrap up the session quickly and was urged to carry on  – “it’s interesting” they said.  I have a follow up engagement, speaking to IS Forum on July 21st.

Jan Whalen has been appointed as Digitisation Assistant  and as an introduction came with me to Sheffield Hallam University to see their Luna installation where they have implemented the new web-based browser.  Not suitable for all our collections but I’m working to get it running with some of them.

IMP Conference proceedings are being scanned by Hollingworth and Moss.  Chris Grave from EDL and Scott have been working to find the best way of preparing metadata for ingest into eScholar.

First of our pamphlets (Foreign and Commonwealth Collection) are now available via JSTOR.   To see some, go to www.jstor.org and choose advanced search.  Check the pamphlets box and do a search for “Basutoland”. 

I’m working with Martin Snelling to develop our core texts (CLA) scanning service.  First objective is to use the PackTracker software package to ease the administrative burden to help keep the existing pilot service running and legal while we plan a more permanent replacement.

Leave a comment